Today was the first lesson after the winter holidays. It was the first time we had a class after such a long time, and I loved it!
The lesson began with a short reflection on our break. We discussed profound moments or what stood out to us from the break. I talked about some realisations that I made. Even though I couldn’t recall any profound moments, I remembered some things that stuck with me. First of all, I figured how independent I have become by going back and seeing the environment I had to live. I realised the things that changed in me and made me able to stand on my own. It felt good to be able to hear to others experiences and relate or be fascinated by their stories and ideas.

The best part of all was the “brain” exercise. We had to move location because this exercise required the following props. The props were 4 chairs, a table and a mug. We had to create shapes indicating which piece had the most power. At first, others started experimenting by placing the chairs down and the mug on top of the table. I, then, put the table on top of the four chairs and the mug on top. Every time, we were trying to find meaning in those structures. For every one of them, we would identify the piece with the most power and justify it.

At first, others started experimenting by placing the chairs down and the mug on top of the table. I, then, put the table on top of the four chairs and the mug on top. Every time, we were trying to find meaning in those structures. For every one of them, we would identify the piece with the most power and justify it. For mine, I thought that the cup was most powerful because it was placed higher of them all and was basing its success on others by standing on top of them, meaning that figures of power get advantage of the majority to make it on top. Afterwards, someone dropped all of the props down on the floor, apart from the mug. Then we discussed how the mug by being perfect and still was the powerful object while the others were in chaos. Kate then realised that we always chose the mug as the element of power. I justified this by saying that the mug is the smallest and looking at size, power usually doesn’t lie with the majority but belongs to a few. And then I noticed how the chairs were all facing the same direction. I found that maybe the table was the object of power, being the tallest and the mug by being still and straight was a rebel, too small to make a difference.

This activity opened up my eyes to the concept of creating meaning. Art is a magical, wonderful thing where its concepts can be interpreted differently by each. The same thing can be translated into anything in different mindsets or at different time periods.

Today’s class was the best beginning to a new fearless and powerful start of this year’s theatre.

Leave a Reply

